# **CURRENT AFFAIRS OF JANUARY 2017**

- The town in Kangra district of Himachal Pradesh which has been declared to be the State's second capital **Dharamsala**
- The team which has won the Pro Wrestling League season 2 title defeating Haryana Hammers in the finals **Punjab Royals**
- The bollywood acress who has been awarded the Peoples Choice Favourite Dramatic Tv Actress Award for her role in American drama series Quantico **Priyanka Chopra**
- The island on Loktak lake of Manipur which has been declared India's first cashless island by the Union Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology under its Digital India programme Karang island
- The former captain of Indian cricket team who has been inducted into the Legends Club Hall of Fame Kapil Dev
- The dedicated web portal for Sarva Shiksha Abhiyan launched by the Central Govt with an aim to capture and showcase innovations and progress in elementary education sector is named ShaGun
- The State in which establishment of Indian Agricultural Research Institute has been approved by the Union Cabinet -Jharkhand (Gauria Karma village in Hazaribagh)
- The Indian scientist and black hole physicist, known as the Black Hole Man of India who passed away on 16 January 2017 C.V. Vishveshwara
- The US astronaut and the last man to walk on the moon (as on date) who passed away on 16 January 2017 Eugene Cernan
- The team which has won the 2017 Premier Badminton League badminton tournament defeating Mumbai Rockets in the finals **Chennai Smashers**
- The team which has won the Ranji Trophy 201617 cricket tournament defeating the previous champions Mumbai in the finals **Gujarat**
- The former Chief Minister of Punjab and also the former Governor of Tamil Nadu, Uttarakhand and Andhra Pradesh who passed away on 14 Jan 2017 Surjit Singh Barnala
- The venue of 104th Indian Science Congress held from 03 Jan to 07 Jan 2017 Sri Venkateshwara University, Tirupati
- The new Secretary General of United Nations Organisation Antonio Guterres
- The new Chairman of Chiefs of Staff Committee Admiral Sunil Lanba
- The new Chief of Air Staff Air Chief Marshall BS Dhanoa
- The new Chief of Army Staff General Bipin Rawar
- 2017 has been declared by the United Nations as the International Year of Sustainable Tourism for Development
- The monthlong awareness programme launched by Govt of India for judicious utilization and conservation of petroleum products along with use of energy efficient appliances and switching to cleaner fuels is named Saksham 2017 (Sanrakshan Kshamta Mahotsav)
- The private airlines which has launched Akhiri Ahuti', a social service under which the airline would ferry free of cost the bodies of Northeast residents who die in Delhi to their homes Indigo
- The CEO and Managing Director of TCS who has been chosen to be the new Chairman of Tata Sons from February 2017 - N Chandrasekaran
- The second of Scorpene class submarines launched by Raksha Rajya Mantri Subhash Bhamre at Mazagon Dock Shipyard Limited (the first was named Kalveri) **Khanderi**
- The place at which Ramayana Darshanam exhibition was inaugurated by the Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi through video conferencing on the occasion of birth anniversary of Swami Vivekananda Kanyakumari
- The place at which National Youth Festival is being organised from 12th to 16th January with the theme Youth for Digital India **Rohtak**
- The European country which has decided to completely replace its FM radio with Digital Audio Broadcasting by December 2017 **Norway**

- The European country which has become the first in the world to run all its trains on 100% wind power **Netherlands**
- The city in which world's first Gender Literature Festival is scheduled from 07 to 09 April 2017 **Patna**
- The nuclear capable missile test fired from a submarine by Pakistan in a step towards completing its nuclear triad (launch of nuclear weapons from land, air, and sea) **Babur3**
- The place at which India's first international stock exchange "India International Exchange" has been set up by Bombay Stock Exchange **GIFT city, Gandhinagar**
- The city in which a fourday Nobel Prize Exhibition titled The Nobel Prize: Ideas Changing the World was inaugurated by the Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi **Ahmedabad**
- The venue of 20th National Conference on e-Governance to be held from 09 to 10 January 2017 **Visakhapatnam**
- The theme of New Delhi World Book Fair being held from 7th to 15th January 2017 at Pragati Maidan Manushi
- The venue of 15th Pravasi Bhartiya Diwas Convention being held from 07 to 09 January 2017 with the theme Redefined Engagement with Indian Diaspora **Bengaluru**
- The Sikh Guru whose 350th birth anniversary is being celebrated in January 2017 Guru Gobind Singh

## FIFA Awards 2016

- The Best FIFA Men's Player Award: Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal)
- The Best FIFA Women's Player Award: Carli Lloyd (USA)
- The Best FIFA Men's Coach Award: Claudio Ranieri (Italy)
- The Best FIFA Women's Coach Award: Silvia Neid (Germany)
- The FIFA Puskas Award 2016: Mohd Faiz Subri (Malaysia)
- The FIFA lifetime achievement award: Falcao (Columbia)

#### Golden Globe Awards 2017 – Movies

Award	Drama	Musical or Comedy			
Best Movie	Moonlight	La La Land			
Best Actor	Casey Affleck (Manchester by the Sea)	Ryan Gosling (La La Land)			
Best Actress	Isabelle Huppert (Elle)	Emma Stone (La La Land)			
Best Director	Damien Chazelle (La La Land)				
Best Animated Feature Film	Zootopia				

#### Chennai Open 2017

	Title	Winner				Runnerup				
Men's S	ingles	Roberto Bautista Agut (Spain)				Daniil Medvedev (Russia)				
Mens's 1	Doubles	Rohan Neduncl	Bopanna hezhiyan (In	and dia)	Jeevan	Purav (India)	5	and	Divij	Sharan

### **National Bravery Awards 2016**

- Bharat Award: Late Km. Tarh Peeju (Arunachal Pradesh)
- Geeta Chopra Award : Tejasweeta Pradhan and Shivani Gond (West Bengal)
- Sanjay Chopra Award : Master Sumit Mamgain (Uttarakhand)
- Bapu Gaidhani Award: Km. Roluahpuii and Late Km. H Lalhriatpuii (Mizoram) and Master Tushar Verma (Chhattisgarh)
- The other recipients are Master Praful Sharma (Himachal Pradesh), Master Sonu Mali (Rajasthan), Km. Akshita Sharma, Master Akshit Sharma, Master Naman (all from Delhi), Km. Anshika Pandey (Uttar Pradesh), Km. Nisha Dilip Patil (Maharashtra), Km. Siya Vamansa Khode (Karnataka), Master Moirangthem Sadananda Singh (Manipur), Master Binil Manjaly, Master Adithyan M.P. Pillai, Master Akhil K. Shibu and Km. Badarunnisa K.P. (all from Kerala), Master Tankeswar Pegu (Assam), Km. Neelam Dhruv (Chhattisgarh), Master Thanghilmang Lunkim (Nagaland), Master Mohan Sethy (Odisha) and Late Km. Payal Devi (Jammu & Kashmir).